ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL – 16 MAY 2017

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRS AND DEPUTIES OTHER THAN FOR AREA COMMITTEES APPOINTMENTS TO WEST YORKSHIRE JOINT AUTHORITIES

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (10)

Independent Person (1): Mohammed Shakeel (appointed until the Annual Meeting of the Council 2018).

Parish & Town Council Members (2): Clayton Parish Councillor Jean Pitts and Keighley Town Councillor Michael Westerman.

Councillors (7):

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
D Smith	Jamil (Ch)	Reid
Townend	Ferriby	
	Lal	
	M Slater	

GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE (5)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
M Pollard	Johnson (Ch)	Reid
	Thornton (DCh)	
	Swallow	
Alternates	Alternates	Alternates
Ellis	Farley	J Sunderland
	Watson	

STAFFING COMMITTEE (5)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
Cooke	Hinchcliffe (Ch)	J Sunderland
	Imran Khan (DCh)	
	Lal	
Alternates	Alternates	Alternate
Pennington	Lee	Fear
	Salam	

CHIEF OFFICER DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE (5)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal
		Democrat
Cooke	Farley	J Sunderland
	Hinchcliffe	
	Imran Khan	

Independent Persons (2): Mohammed Shakeel and vacancy

LICENSING COMMITTEE (11)

Conservative	Labour	Independent	The
			Independents
Ellis	M Slater (Ch)	Morris	Hawkesworth
B M Smith	Swallow (DCh)	Swallow (DCh)	
	Engel	Engel	
	Arshad Hussain	Arshad Hussain	
	Jamil	Jamil	
	Peart		

REGULATORY AND APPEALS COMMITTEE (7)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
Brown	Warburton (Ch)	Griffiths
Rickard	Wainwright (DCh)	
	Amran	
	Watson	
Alternates	Alternates	Alternate
Alternates Ellis	Alternates Azam	Alternate Stelling
Ellis	Azam	

CORPORATE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTTEE (10)

Conservative	Labour	Labour Liberal Democrat	
Cooke	Arshad Hussain (Ch)	J Sunderland	Naylor
Riaz	Duffy (DCh)		
B M Smith	Bacon		
	Warburton		
	Watson		
Alternates	Alternates	Alternate	Alternate
Mallinson	Greenwood	Ward	Hawkesworth
M Pollard	T Hussain		
Townend	Jamil		
	Shaheen		
	Thirkill		

CHILDREN'S SERVICES OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9 plus voting co-opted)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Independent
D Smith (Ch)	Engel	Ward	Sajawal
M Pollard (DCh)	Mullaney		
	Peart		
	Shaheen		
	Tait		
Alternates	Alternates	Alternate	Alternate
Riaz	Akhtar	J Sunderland	

Rickard	Bacon	
	Abid Hussain	
	Thirkill	

VOTING CO-OPTED MEMBERS (4):

Church representatives (2): Claire Parr (CE) and Joyce Simpson (RC) Parent Governor Representatives (2): Sidiq Ali and Gull Hussain

ENVIRONMENT AND WASTE MANAGEMENT OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat	Green
Gibbons	A Ahmed	Stubbs	Warnes (Ch)
Senior	Berry	Love (DCh)	
	Mohammed		
	Watson		
Alternates	Alternate	Alternate	Alternate
Ellis	Duffy	R Sunderland	Hawarun Hussain
Rickard	Iqbal		
	H Khan		
	Nazir		

HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrat
Gibbons	Greenwood (Ch)	N Pollard
Rickard	A Ahmed (DCh)	
	Akthar	
	Johnson	
	Shabbir	
Alternates	Alternates	Alternate
Barker	Berry	Griffiths
Poulsen	Shabir Hussain	
	T Hussain	
	H Khan	

REGENERATION AND ECONOMY OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (9)

Conservative	Labour	Liberal Democrats	Green	Independent
Heseltine	Farley (Ch)	Fear	Hawarun Hussain	Khadim Hussain
Mallinson	Jamil (DCh)			
	Nazir			
	Salam			
Alternates	Alternate	Alternate	Alternate	Alternate
Pennington	Green	R Ahmed	Warnes	
Whiteley	Johnson			
	H Khan			
	Sharp			

AREA COMMITTEES (Chair and Deputy Chair appointed by each Committee)

BRADFORD EAST AREA COMMITTEE (9)

(Bolton and Undercliffe; Bowling and Barkerend; Bradford Moor; Eccleshill; Idle and Thackley; Little Horton)

Labour	Liberal Democrat
H Khan	R Ahmed
Jamil	N Pollard
Salam	Stubbs
Shafiq	J Sunderland
	R Sunderland
Alternates	Alternates
Ikram	Fear
Iqbal	Griffiths
l Khan	Reid
	Stelling
	Ward

BRADFORD SOUTH AREA COMMITTEE (9)

(Great Horton; Queensbury; Royds; Tong; Wibsey; Wyke)

Labour	Queensbury Independents
Wainwright	L Cromie
T Hussain	
Dodds	
Peart	
Sharp	
Tait	
Thornton	
Warburton	
Alternate	Alternates
Berry	P Cromie
Ferriby	
Green	
Jabar	
Johnson	
V Slater	
Watson	

BRADFORD WEST AREA COMMITTEE (9)

(City; Clayton and Fairweather Green; Heaton; Manningham; Thornton and Allerton; Toller)

Labour	
Amran	
Mohammed	
A Ahmed	
Akhtar	

Azam
Dunbar
Engel
Nazir
Shaheen
Alternates
Duffy
Arshad Hussain
Imran Hussain
Shabir Hussain
Lal
Mullaney
Shabbir
Swallow
Thirkill

KEIGHLEY AREA COMMITTEE (9) (Craven; Ilkley; Keighley Central; Keighley East; Keighley West; Worth Valley)

Conservative	Labour	Independents	Independent
Ali	Bacon	Hawkesworth	Morris
Brown	Farley		
Mallinson	M Slater		
B M Smith			
Alternates	Alternates	Alternate	Alternate
Gibbons	Abid Hussain	Naylor	
Miller	Lee		
Poulsen	Pullen		
Rickard			

SHIPLEY AREA COMMITTEE (9)
(Baildon; Bingley; Bingley Rural; Shipley; Wharfedale; Windhill and Wrose)

Conservative	Labour	Green
Heseltine	Greenwood	Love
Shaw	Ross-Shaw	
Barker		
Davies		
Riaz		
Townend		
Alternates	Alternates	Alternates
Cooke	Hinchcliffe	Hawarun Hussain
Ellis		Warnes
Pennington		
M Pollard		
D Smith		
Whiteley		

APPOINTMENTS/NOMINATIONS TO WEST YORKSHIRE JOINT AUTHORITIES FOR THE MUNICIPAL YEAR 2017/18

YPO (YORKSHIRE PURCHASING ORGANISATION)

Recommended -

- (1) That Councillor Warburton (alternate: Councillor Lal) and Councillor Whiteley (alternate: Councillor Ellis) be appointed to the YPO for the 2017/18 municipal year.
- (2) That in accordance with the Standing Orders of the YPO this Council's voting rights be vested in Councillor Warburton (or the alternate) as the representative of the largest group on the Council.
- (3) That the political balance rules which apply to the YPO Joint Committee be waived in accordance with Section 17 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989.

WEST YORKSHIRE JOINT SERVICES

Recommended -

That Councillors Hinchcliffe, V Slater, Duffy (alternates: Councillors Salam and Imran Khan) and Riaz (alternate: Councillor Ellis) be appointed to the West Yorkshire Joint Services Committee.

WEST YORKSHIRE PENSION FUND

Recommended -

- (1) That Councillor M Slater be appointed as Chair of the Pensions Board.
- (2) That Councillors Thornton and Miller be appointed to the Investment Advisory Panel.
- (3) That Councillors Thornton, Lal and Miller be appointed to the Joint Advisory Group.

WEST YORKSHIRE POLICE AND CRIME PANEL

Recommended -

That Councillors Tariq Hussain, Pullen and Mallinson be appointed to the West Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel.

WEST YORKSHIRE FIRE AND RESCUE SERVICE

Recommended -

That Councillors Dodds, Peart, Tait, M Pollard and R Ahmed be appointed to the West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service.

INDEPENDENT REMUNERATION PANEL AND PARISH PANEL

Sir Rodney Brooke	Lorraine Clarke	Christopher Ing

APPOINTMENTS TO THE WEST YORKSHIRE COMBINED AUTHORITY

Recommended -

- (1) That the Leader of the Council be appointed as a member of the West Yorkshire Combined Authority and Councillor Imran Khan be appointed as the substitute.
- (2) That authority be delegated to the Chief Executive, in consultation with Group Leaders, WYCA's Managing Director and other West Yorkshire Chief Executives, the appointment of the 3 additional Members to WYCA and their substitutes, so that the 8 constituent council members taken as a whole reflect the balance of political parties for the time being among members of WYCA's constituent councils so far as reasonably practicable.
- (3) That Councillors Mohammed, H Khan, Salam and Poulsen be nominated to the WYCA's Transport Committee.
- (4) That Councillors Shaheen, Watson and Ellis be nominated to the WYCA's Overview and Scrutiny Committee.
- (5) It is noted that it is understood that:.
 - this Council's relevant Executive Portfolio holder will be co-opted by the WYCA to the West Yorkshire and York Investment Committee (no nomination required); and
 - the WYCA Member appointed by this Council will be appointed (in their capacity as WYCA Member), to the WYCA's LCR Partnership Committee.

I:\memberships\committeemembership2017/18